OKWIT | Diana Varnes
Providing a forum for women in technology in Oklahoma
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-449,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-theme-ver-13.0,qode-theme-bridge,bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.4,vc_responsive

Diana Varnes

Diana Varnes

Where did you go to school?

University of North Texas, where I studied Journalism, Technical Writing, and Composition and Language.

Describe the type of work that you do:

I’m a Web Developer, COO and co-owner of Hickory Creative, a web development company out of Muskogee. I volunteer with Techlahoma and coordinate the Techogee meetup group and Code for Muskogee. I teach middle and high school girls how to write code and inspire them to pursue a career in computer programming. I also speak to middle and high school girls about pursuing careers in the STEM fields.

What led you to a career in technology:

My husband is a computer whisperer and IT manager for a rural telecom company and in April 2015 I finally decided to teach myself to code after hearing an NPR story on all jobs available in the field.

Why are you an OK WIT member?

After growing up in a single parent household, I am passionate about empowering women to take control of their lives.

Tell us about your favorite book, TV show or movie:

Book: Childhood is Anne of Green Gables. As an adult it’s Ready Player One. It’s just a fun story I could read over and over and reminds me of my childhood.
TV Show: All time faves are Gilmore Girls and Star Trek: Next Gen, and my current favorites are all techy: Halt and Catch Fire, Silicon Valley, and Mr. Robot.
Movie: No one favorite, but I love anything by Quentin Tarantino or Seth Rogen, campy B-movies, and of course the Star Trek and Star Wars franchises.

What type of music do you listen to?

Everything. My husband and I both have very eclectic taste and our Pandora stations include a little of everything: Classic Hip-Hop, Irish Pub Rock, Electronica, Swing, Folk…

If you had a day off with no responsibilities how would you spend it?

In hot weather I’d binge watch shows on Netflix with my husband and dogs. In cooler weather I’d go hiking and take pictures of everything.

What is your favorite app?

Google Calendar.

What would we find in your fridge?

Unsweetened cashew milk, an insane amount of cheese, lots of meat and veggies from local farmers (I live in rural SE OK), dark chocolate, seeds from/for my garden, 35mm film, Whataburger mustard and ketchup, Austin Eastciders Texas Honey, and Grapefruit Izze (for Palomas).

If you could change one thing in today’s society what would it be?

Inequality of opportunity.