OKWIT | Tara Waddle
Providing a forum for women in technology in Oklahoma
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-464,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-theme-ver-13.0,qode-theme-bridge,bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.4,vc_responsive

Tara Waddle

Tara Waddle

tara-waddle-2Where did you go to school?

I graduated from Oklahoma State University with a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism, Broadcast Production.

Describe the type of work you do:

I’m the Chief Operations Officer at Allshore Virtual Staffing, an international staffing firm headquartered in Norman, Okla. We partner with companies looking for supplemental web or software development resources to work with their internal teams. I joined Allshore within the initial year the company was founded, which gave me the wonderful opportunity of establishing a startup into a thriving business.

What led you to a career in technology:

I can’t remember a moment in my life I have not been interested in working with technology, in some capacity. Learning how to navigate between various operating systems, doing work with animation, and website development were interests of mine when I was a kid. In college, I was drawn to broadcast production due to the software, equipment, and technology used, and the limitless things you could do with them. Although I’m not currently working in broadcast, I was fortunate enough to find a great career enabling me to continue to stay involved in tech and IT in a way that I enjoy even more.

Why are you an OKWIT member?

I joined because I want to be part of a movement to make a change. Through OKWIT, we have an opportunity to both empower others, and ourselves. I strongly believe in the mission to encourage and support women in STEM careers, and am thankful to be a part of an organization that shares my beliefs.

Tell us about your favorite book, TV show, or movie:

There are far too many to name! I’m a huge fan of sci-fi and fantasy for all of the above. I also love campy horror, and crime mystery and procedurals.

What type of music do you listen to?

I truly do listen to it all and keep it pretty eclectic; it varies on my mood. If I had to narrow it down, I primarily listen to electro pop and alt. rock.

If you had a day off with no responsibilities, how would you spend it?

Assuming my husband also could have the same opportunity, I’d love to spend it with him, on some sort of adventure. Our mutual hobby is to travel and try new things together.

What is your favorite app?

My most used and liked apps have to be BaconReader for Reddit (the actual Reddit app just doesn’t cut it for me!), and iBooks or Kindle. Reading is one of my favorite hobbies, and I stay well entertained between the three of those.

What would we find in your fridge?

Always an abundance of filtered water, coffee creamer, almond milk, and the usual supplies for baking – butter, eggs, etc.

If you could change one thing in today’s society, what would it be?

Emphasis on continued education. We should always strive to broaden our horizons and learn new things, even after or outside of school. The more educated we are, the better decisions we’ll collectively make, and will have the opportunity to make advancements on both a personal and global scale.